DRIVECLUB Playstation Plus upgrade will stay with you even after your subscription expires

driveclub

Evolution Studios PS4 driving game DRIVECLUB has come under fire recently when it’s PlayStation Plus and full game features were revealed.  PlayStation Plus user get a 50 car, and limited track version of the game, and can upgrade to the full title for just $50.  This sounds like a decent deal right?  Apparently not, as the initial plan was that if your PlayStation Plus subscription ran out, you’d lose access to that upgraded version of DRIVECLUB.  Naturally, that caused plenty of uproar on places like Neogaf and Reddit.

Sony seems to have heard those complaints loud and clear, reversing that policy today on the PlayStation Blog.  “Our priority for DRIVECLUB is to enable you to play and enjoy everything it has to offer and PlayStation recognises that the prior plan for DRIVECLUB entitlement for the upgrade to the PS Plus edition was not appropriate. As a result, we have adjusted the PlayStation Plus terms for DRIVECLUB.

Now, If you intend on downloading DRIVECLUB PlayStation Plus Edition, and upgrading to the full game experience, you will have access to the full game even if your PlayStation Plus subscription runs out.”

This isn’t the first time Sony has actively listened to the internet’s outrage.  Last Summer, Neogaf’s campaign against Xbox One style DRM for the PS4 probably made a huge difference in the tech giant’s decision to use no DRM.  This is the right move by Sony overall, and I’m glad that DRIVECLUB will be able to be enjoyed by really anyone who wants to play it, even without a PS+ subscription.

by, Bobby Marquardt

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s