Disney Infinity Marvel Superheroes announced, arrives this Fall

At a special press event today in Los Angeles, Disney has revealed the the second phase of their best-selling game franchise Disney Infinity will bring in one of Disney’s heaviest hitters: Marvel Superheroes.  Marvel’s Editor-in-chief Joe Quesada made the announcement of Disney Infinity Marvel Superheroes along with Avengers and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. star Clark Gregg (Phil Coulson) as well as Brian Michael Bendis, writer of a multitude of Marvel comics, including Avengers, Ultimate Spider-man, and events like Siege, House of M, and much more.  Quesada revealed that the first six Marvel characters coming to Disney Infinity are Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, Hulk, Black Widow, and Hawkeye.

The playable campaign world of Marvel Manhattan is four times larger then the largest previous Disney Infinity world, Metroville.  The campaign’s story looks to focus on Loki and MODOK bringing Frost Giants to Manhattan, and it’s up to The Avengers to stop them.  The story will be written by Brian Michael Bendis.  Marvel is focusing on giving players the ability to explore this new city, and has improved character movements tremendously.  Obviously heroes like Iron Man can fly, but characters like Captain America now have a super jump, and Hulk can climb buildings.  Their is a new skill tree that each character will have as well, with each hero feeling incredibly unique.  Hawkeye is naturally dependent on his bow, where Cap and Thor are more up-close brawlers.

Disney Infinity Marvel starter packThe six characters mentioned above are just the first of over 18 Marvel characters who will be joining the already massive Disney Infinity roster.  Other Marvel characters shown were Loki, MODOK, Nick Fury, Groot and Rocket Raccoon from Guardians of the Galaxy, Green Goblin, and Spider-man, with Disney teasing more characters that would not just be from the Marvel cinematic universe.  The starter set will include Thor, Iron-man and Black Widow, the portal of power, as well as two power disks and a currently mysterious crystal.  Disney teased that more information on the game will be coming at E3, likely with a few more characters shown off.

All new power disks will be arriving as well, with Disney themed items like Lola, Agent Coulson’s flying car in Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., disks that change the character’s costume or can be used to call in allies.  For example, Iron Man can call in Iron Patriot.  All previous characters, power disks, and Toy Box mode saves will transfer into Disney Infinity 2.0.  On top of these new Marvel-themed items, there will be more Disney themed items as well.  They didn’t discuss any details, but this likely includes things like new play sets, characters and power disks. Disney Infinity Marvel Superheroes will be coming to PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii U, iOS, and PC this fall.

This reporter’s opinion:  OH MY GOD SOMEONE TAKE MY WALLET RIGHT NOW.  I’m a 21 year old man, and this has me far too excited.  Marvel coming to Disney Infinity seems like a natural fit, and the sheer amount of awesome characters that they can now release makes my wallet tremble with fear.  This move is also a big positive for introducing more Marvel characters to younger kids, which I love.  This has me so excited I’m considering putting down a pre-order right now.   Well done Disney.

by, Bobby Marquardt


1 thought on “Disney Infinity Marvel Superheroes announced, arrives this Fall

  1. Pingback: Disney Infinity 2.0 Release Window | Gamers Sphere

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s