What’s Bobby playing this week? Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft

hearthstone_wallpaper

Hey readers, I’m debuting a new (hopefully) weekly article where I talk for little bit about whatever game I’ve been hooked into the most over the course of the last week.  I’ll talk about the gameplay mechanics, graphics, and anything else that may be good, bad, or the mediocre.  Any feedback you folks can offer would be great, as I’m always looking to make things better for you guys.  Without further ado, let’s get onto the show!

What’s Bobby playing this week? Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft

One type of game that’s never translated perfectly to video games is a trading card game.  If you’ve ever palyed a TCG like Yu-Gi-Oh, Magic: The Gathering or the Pokemon trading card game, you probably also know that their video game counterparts leave much to be desired.  Even card battle video games often stink as the rules are either too complex, or the creators don’t seem to fully understand them.  Blizzard has changed this status quo quite a bit with their free-to-play card battler, Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft.

Hearthstone is an incredibly simple, and deceptively deep card game.  I had seen this game being played on Twitch and at Blizzcon, and was quite intrigued.  I always loved games like Yu-Gi-Oh, and hoped this could scratch my card battler itch, and boy has it ever.   Hearthstone feels both fresh and yet familiar to the many great trading card games I’ve played in my life.

The crux of Hearthstone is a mana system, which is lets players summon minions, or use spells.  You start with one mana, and gain one each turn up to a possible total of 10.  Each minion and spell costs a certain amount of mana, though attacking with a minion costs zero mana.  Each player starts with 30 health, and the goal is to lower your opponents health to zero.  I’m doing a poor job explaining the full rules, but Blizzard has released quite few videos explaining how to play, one example is the video below.  If the video does not do it for you, the game offers an extensive tutorial on how to play.

I’ve been digging Hearthstone so much lately because it offers you a quick gaming experience that still is quite fulfilling.  Each match only lasts about 10 or so minutes, but those ten minutes feel like an extensive chess match against either an Hearthstone’s smart A.I. opponents, or an online enemy.  I haven’t run into an opponent who has just decimated me yet, but I know that one day it will happen.  Will I still love the game as much if I keep getting decimated?  Probably not, but that’s where Blizzard’s extensive background in making great ranking systems come in.  I may get beaten quite badly by guys in Gold in Starcraft, but I can still have a great time in Silver.  I expect this same sort of good ranking system from Hearthstone as well (though I haven’t yet had the courage to venture into the ranked ladder.)

Hearthstone is free, so their is no real risk for you to try it out.  It is also very good thus far about not forcing me to pay for things.  Extra cards are bought with in-game currency or real money, but I’ve earned in-game currency quite quickly thus far. All and all, if you enjoy card games like Yu-Gi-Oh or Magic you should really check out Hearthstone.   All you have to do is download the Battle.net launcher, and it’s all yours.  If you wanna play a friendly game feel free to add me, TheR3medy.

by, Bobby Marquardt

One thought on “What’s Bobby playing this week? Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft

  1. Pingback: Hearthstone is getting a single-player adventure mode | League of Mediocre Gamers

Leave a Reply

