Steam Holiday Sale aftermath: What I bought and how I’m liking it

Another Steam sale, another empty wallet.  During the summer sale, I bought most of the games because they were cheap, the winter sale was a far different experience (besides the ludicrously low prices).  I had quite a few games that I actually wanted to buy during this sale, and they have proven thus far to be great purchases.  I’m going to go through all six of the games I bought, and let you know what I thought of them thus far.  If I haven’t played it yet, I will explain what the game actually is.

Divinity_Dragon_Commander_coverDivinity: Dragon Commander

Divinity: Dragon Commander has been a game I’ve wanted to play for a long time.  Releasing this past August, I skipped it at first because my plate of games was already quite full.  In retrospect, that seems to have been the right choice.  Dragon Commander mixes RTS, RPG, Card battlers, and tabletop gaming all into one fun experience.  You play the role of the Dragon Prince who must take the throne that he and his siblings have gone to war over.

I’m about two hours deep into the game, and I find it to be a solid overall game.  The political mechanics of the game are very fun.  Allowing me to chose the policies of my new empire is fun, and seeing how different races are allegories for our current society are great.  The combat is certainly challenging, and very fast paced.  I enjoy it, but my god does it have a learning curve.  Also, you can morph into a dragon and fight on the battlefield, so that’s amazing.

guacameleeGuacamelee: Gold Edition

Guacamelee has one of my favorite game concepts of the year.  You play as a luchador Juan Aguacate, who must save El Presidente’s daughter from the Evil Charro skeleton in a Metroid-vania style action platformer.  Are you hooked yet?  Because that was all it took to sell me on the paltry 3.49 sales price.  That price, combined with the heaps of praise the game recieved upon it’s release on the PS Vita and Playstation 3.

I haven’t yet been able to dive into Guacamelee, as I have been hopelessly addicted to Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, Saints Row IV and got sucked deep into the Stanley Parable (more on that one later though).  I’m sure I’ll like it though, and if you have a chance, give it a look yourself.  It’s only received heaps of praise from both critics and gamers alike.

max payne 3Max Payne 3

It’s rare to see a Rockstar game go deeply on sale, and even rarer to see one go deeply on sale just a year and half after it’s release.  This rare occurrence was where I found Rockstar’s 2012 mega-hit Max Payne 3.  This game, which cost $59.99 in May 2012 cost me $2.99.  Yea.  That deal is freaking insane.

Max Payne 3 is set nine years after the climactic events on Max Payne 2, and we now find our titular hero working as a private security contractor in Brazil.  Brazil throws everything it can at Max, and he must get himself back to his old self in order to survive and save his clients.  This was also the first Max Payne not developed by Remedy Studios.  Rockstar took over after Remedy went on to create Alan Wake and Quantum Break.  I haven’t yet gotten to play Max Payne 3, but I couldn’t pass up this insanely deep discount.  I’m sure it’ll be a great time, and at worst, I’m out three bucks.

payday 2 coverPayday 2

Overkill followed up their surprise hit Payday: The Heist with Payday 2.  I picked this one up for just $13.74, which is a steal since the game came out at $30 just four months ago.  This is another one that I haven’t had time to play, but some of my colleagues here have been just plain loving the game.  In Max’s words “Payday 2 is the reason I never wrote a review to Payday 2.  I literally could not stop playing this game long enough to get my love for it into well written sentences.”

The game allows players to perform different heists, robberies and escapes all while playing in four player co-op with your friends or random online chums.  As you complete these missions, you earn even more cash, which allows you to purchase new guns, upgrades and much more.  I’ll likely start this game up on Monday or Tuesday, when all of Wisconsin is frozen in place by the immense chill coming our way.

spelunkySpelunky

Rougelike’s are becoming insanely popular in the indie gaming world thanks to games like Rouge Legacy, Don’t Starve, FTL, and Spelunky leading the charge.  Spelunky sets players into the shoes of the Spelunker as he journeys his way deep into the unexplored depths.  I would explain the story further, but that’s really all there is to it.  The beautiful nature of Rougelikes are that they are randomly generated each time you start playing.

Randomly generated everything is certainly not something I’m use to.  As many of you probably have noticed, I value story quite highly in my games.  this is going to be quite the change once I begin this game.  I say begin, but I suppose there isn’t a real end to Spelunky either.  Pretty much until I give up or rage quit.  Or die.  Most likely die.

stanley parable coverThe Stanley Parable

This fucking game.  Holy crap.  I have pumped nearly fours hours into this amazing experience ever since starting it.  Those four hours were right in a row by the way.  I would describe how and why this game is amazing, but I feel like in doing so, I would potentially destroy your experience with it.  Trust me when I say, do not watch any gameplay videos on tThe Stanley Parable (with the exception of Adam Sessler’s demo) as they will ruin the game for you.

After just playing it for 15 minutes, The Stanley Parable has made it’s way onto my best of 2013 list.  It will grab you the moment you first walk through your doorway.  Please, please, please go buy The Stanley Parable.  For just $8.99 I got a steal, and $14.99 is a completely fair price for it.

What did you buy on the Steam Sale?  How are you liking it?  Let me know in the comments below!

by, Bobby Marquardt

 

Leave a Reply

