State of the Site address: Letting you guys know our future plans

Hey everybody, it’s quite a slow news day, so I figured I would let folks know whats going on with the site; what are plans are for Game of the Year, Podcasts, and even more into the future.  To put it bluntly, I know content has slowed done considerably during December.  Max and I both work retail, and Caleb had finals, so we were all quite busy.  We plan on putting out more content now that we are free a bit more.

Game of the Year awards

I (Bobby) have really enjoyed how places like Giantbomb and Rev3games have done there Game of the Year lists, where many members of their staff get to release their own lists.  I think that’s how we will do things here.  We all play a width swath of different kind of games, and trying to force all of our likes together could leave some feeling left out.  I know for certain I will be releasing a Top games list featuring 10 games, that will be in no particular order, except for #1, which will be my Game of the Year.  My plan is to release these in the first or second week of January, as I have to catch up on games like The Stanley Parable, Assassin’s Creed IV, XCOM Enemy Within and more.

Podcasts

As I said earlier, Max and I were both insanely busy during December.  We love doing the podcast, but due to work and personal issues we had to put it on hold temporarily.  We will re-launch it with our third episode in early January.  Maybe we’ll call it episode 3.NOW, I’m not sure yet.  Also if you get that joke, I love you.  If you guys want anything specific in a podcast, let us know.  We would love to incorporate feedback from our listeners.

Specialty articles

I’ve been kicking around a few ideas for articles that I may start writing in the new year.  We may also start doing lists, like our favorite shooters of all time, or best super hero games.  Second thought, I’m more then likely going to do at least the lists.

Reviews

I’ve been quite happy with the reviews my team has done, but we need to get more of them out there.  One goal of mine is to have someone on our team review all of the major releases of the year, and possibly even do first impression videos for Steam Early Access titles.  I may even create reviews for a few older titles if I’m ever board.  One incredibly lofty goal is to create video reviews.  I really would like to do these, but I need to purchase a capture card first.  Once I do that though, we will also probably do a few live streams where you guys can laugh at how I scream like a 10 year old girl when playing a horror game.

Conclusion

I just want to say thank you to all of our readers.  You guys are awesome, and I really want to keep doing this into the future.  I really do love writing about games, and may honestly try to make this into a career.  We will keep things going with site into 2014, and hopefully beyond.  If you guys have any suggestions or ideas of what we can do better, please let us know.  Either comment here or shoot me a tweet @The_R3medy.  I will always reply.  Thanks again everyone, and I’m really looking forward to 2014.

by, Bobby Marquardt

Leave a Reply

