PSA: Target is having issues with their PS4 reserve cards, no issues with Xbox One

ps4-hrdware-large7As I reported earlier in the week, Target has begun pre-orders today of the PS4 and Xbox One.  I, excited as ever, went to pre-order a PS4 at my local Target store, along with a friend who wanted to buy an Xbox One.  The Xbox One was able to be pre-ordered with no issues, and when you pre-order a Xbox One you get $10 off any game or accessory when you buy the Xbox One.  The PS4 reservation card has problems though.

The manger on site told me it was a global issue (this is after getting off the phone with their call center), and that the issue should be fixed within 24 hours.  They put the card on reserve for me though, so the PS4 is still mine to pre-order.  According to a reddit post, others have run into this issue, with similar results.

If you want a PS4 at launch and have yet to pre-order it, then head up to your local Target store now.  Most stores will likely still put the cards on reserve on a first come, first serve basis, so expect them to go fast.  One benefit of pre-ordering from Target is you receive a $25 gift card with your purchase, and if you have a Target Red Card, you can get 5% off.

Update: All issues with the pre-order have been resolved, and can be bought normally.  Head to your local Target now as they may have a few left.

Update 2: All issues have been fixed.  Head to your local Target now to pre-order.

by, Bobby Marquardt

12 thoughts on “PSA: Target is having issues with their PS4 reserve cards, no issues with Xbox One

  1. Pingback: Target will begin pre-orders of the PS4 and Xbox One this Sunday in store. | League of Mediocre Gamers

  2. carlos

    i bought mine already on sunday when they had them out was wondering if thats going to guarantee me a ps4 on the launch day? and how many systems will target have ?

    Reply
    1. leagueofmediocregamers Post author

      It is guaranteed for launch day. What they do with games, for example, is when they get in their shipment (generally alike 4 days before release) they set the number that were pre-ordered aside, and hold those for the designated time period after launch (I think it’s a week?). The amount each Target store gets is going to vary, I have learned that the one I pre-ordered at is getting 8 PS4s. They also haven’t sold a pre-order since I bought mine, so the demand for them at Target now is quite slow.

      Reply
  3. Enrique Carrillo

    so i pre-order my ps4 today at target and was wondering how it works, can i start paying the ps4 off before it releases or will i have to have the $400 and go to target with my reserved card and pay it there when it releases?

    Reply
    1. leagueofmediocregamers Post author

      You cannot pay off the amount before launch day, you have to have the reserve card on launch day to buy that one as well. They have a very archaic way of doing pre-orders. Also, your $25 dollars that you put down for the PS4 doesn’t go toward the $400 cost, but you basically just bought a $25 gift card, though if you plan on buying a game with it , it all works out.

      Reply
  4. Steve

    I purchased my PS4 bundle last night on targets website so i hope I am locked in and guaranteed on release day and paid for express same day shipping (which came out to be $8 and some change, strange). Website says I will receive on 8-15 so lets see what happens as im sure that on the day of release is when i should receive shipping confirmation.

    Reply
      1. Steve

        Anyone else that ordered from target nervous about getting their ps4 on launch day that ordered from target? I am ! They are the only site to still have pre orders.

    1. Alfredo

      I did the preorder on target for the PS4 bundle by September 8th on targets website and I choose express shipping. And same here the web page says I will receive on NOv-15th. This my first time using target online buying.

      Reply

Leave a comment