Steam Sale Aftermath: What I bought

steamIt’s over……. It’s finally over.  My wallet has breathed a sigh of relief, and can finally stop spending money (at least until the Fall games rush about a month from now).  This year’s sales were quite great, and I could not help but pick up seven games.  I’m going to give you guys a little run through on how I feel about each, and if I’d recommend it on the next sale.  So let’s get started with my first purchase:

Defiance

This was my most expensive purchase of the entire Steam Sale, costing me $13.79.  I just have to point out it’s awesome that we live in an age when the most I paid for an entire game, let alone an MMO, was $13.79.  I’ve been a huge fan of the TV series on SyFy, and was elated to see this game go on sale.  The easiest way to describe the gameplay of Defiance is an MMO third person Borderlands.  The world is post-alien invasion, with now the Earth terraformed and their are multiple alien races trying to live together.

It’s a surprisingly good game, and if you are a fan of the TV series I highly recommend you give it a look.  The graphics are quite bland though, and pretty bad for a AAA title, and the quest design is a little repetitive (though this can be said for any MMO).  The game’s arkfalls and stellar combat make up for these shortcomings though, and I personally love the universe.  At $39.99 the cost is a little high, so wait for the next sale, or if you can get it for a decent price at retail.

Universe Sandbox

This is quite the interesting purchase, as it’s not really that much a of a game, so much as a simulation.  It’s a very deep game, that will require a lot more play from me, but for now it has left me impressed.  Giving you the ability to control galaxies, create black holes and literally smash planets into one another is quite exciting.

Natural Selection 2

My god is this game fun.  This first person shooter pits Marines vs Monsters in a Left 4 Dead like experience, allowing players to also play as the monsters.  Players also use base-building mechanics to take over the map, leading to a lot of strategy and communication needed to win the match.  It’s a surprisingly great shooter, and I’m going to have to play even more matches.

Crusader Kings 2

I haven’t yet been able to start Crusader Kings, but it seems like a Game of Thrones-esc experience.  I can’t wait to dive into it, and prove how horrid of a monarch I’d make.

Mark of the Ninja

I love stealth games, and for $3.74, I couldn’t pass up the amazing Mark of the Ninja.  I bought this one while on vacation so I couldn’t play it yet.  I’ve only heard good things though.

Sleeping Dogs

I skipped this one at launch (like many), but for $6.24 I could hardly pass it up.  I haven’t been able to start it up quite yet, but it looks quite promising.  I enjoyed the True Crime titles, so this one is likely right up my alley.

Medieval 2: Total War

This game plays out like many other Total War games, and I’m going to have to play it more soon.  Heck, I still have to play through Total War: Shogun 2, so I’m quite a bit behind unfortunately.  (I could even list out my whole backlog of games if you guys want me to)

So what did you pick up on the Steam Sale?  Let me know in the comments below, while I dive into these great games.

by, Bobby Marquardt

Leave a Reply

